Rework, an awesome book!

Well, this post may look like it has nothing to do with code/programming but fear not, it has everything to do with it.

A good friend of mine, Rui Milagaia, talked to me about a book called Rework. He told me the book was from some guys that worked in a software development company but in a non conventional way. And they succeeded.

Time passed and only recently I’ve read it. I love it. All of it.

Honestly, I recommend this book to everyone that wants to be something in life. It so easy to read, no fancy words, no delays. The book is divided in really small chapters (more like articles), mostly with 1 or 2 pages long.

It made me think a lot about my behavior and what I want to do with my life. And not only that, It showed me that some of my values and ideas are not impossible, that there are people out there that thinks the same and was able to achieve something. If you want to know more about the book, the official site is here:

http://37signals.com/rework/

If you know the book or the company, feel free to comment and share your opinion.

6 comments so far

  1. Tiago Pontes on

    Já li várias coisas do género, e subscrevo completamente.
    Pelo que li do free excerpt, deixo só o a nota de que estou actualmente numa empresa pouco amiga de reuniões, e as tais de 7min seriam muito benéficas…: se e só se fossem apenas de 7min.
    Enquanto todos bebem café de manhã ajudaria à disciplina, a “entrar na onda”, e a mantermo-nos a par dos vários projectos individuais.
    É que agora parece haver um hype anti-reuniões – e realmente no github não as há – mas há que ver que quem lá está são os super-cromos do OSS, que não precisam de tanta ajuda, e que ajudam apenas onde e quando querem…
    Numa empresa real, onde muitos se sentem “obrigados” a trabalhar não pode ser “nem tanto ao mar, nem tanto à terra”.

    • Tiago Pontes on

      oops, next one will be in english..

    • Rafael Ribeiro on

      I think you are right Tiago, balance is everything. Not much, not less. I don’t agree with EVERYTHING word by word they say in the book, but I agree with 95%. Those are not rules, are more like concepts. Meaning that it should not be interpreted literally (at least I think is better this way). And they are logic, they are not theoretical, they are very pragmatic. I like that.

      Luís Fernando Veríssimo, a famous brasilian writer, wrote a text named “Ten things that took me years to learn”. One of these things is:

      Nº 7: If you had to identify in one word, the reason why the human race could not (and never will) achieve all of its potential, that word would be “meetings”.”

      😀

      If you want to see all the other, clike here


Leave a Reply

